The Talbot Historical Society is pleased to present its latest exhibition as well as a historical marker unveiling, along with its ongoing Easton docent-led tours.
The Talbot Historical Society recently opened its latest exhibit entitled “The Bay from Above – Aerial Views of the Chesapeake, Then and Now” in the Lawrence M. Denton Extended Museum, located at 25 South Washington Street in downtown Easton. This retrospective photo gallery tells the story of our everchanging shoreline here in Talbot County over the last century. It offers fascinating visualization of how our county has changed and evolved.
Pioneer photographer H. Robins Hollyday (1898-1981) began taking aerial photographs of the Eastern Shore’s lands and waterways in the 1920s. With these images as benchmarks, local pilot and photographer Hunter H. Harris has done a re-shoot of the same scenes as precisely as possible. The exhibit pairs these “then and now” photographs for a captivating and thought-provoking glance into our past with a comparative view of the present.
“The Bay from Above” will be open to the public, free of charge, from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. every Wednesday through Saturday. The Talbot Historical Society gratefully acknowledges the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum for its generous loan of these photographs.
Then, on May 14, in a collaboration with the Maryland Women’s Heritage Center and the William G. Pomeroy Foundation, the Talbot Historical Society will unveil a new historical marker honoring Mary Jenkins and Mary Bartlett Dixon, Talbot County’s two most prominent suffragists. The ceremony will take place at 1 p.m. in the Gardens at the Talbot Historical Society, located at 25 South Washington Street in Easton.
Mary Jenkins and Mary Bartlett Dixon led Talbot County’s historic Just Franchise League from 1909 to 1919. Mary Jenkins was Maryland’s representative at state suffrage conventions and was seen as a faithful Talbot County leader for the cause. Mary B. Dixon was a noted grassroots activist for the Suffrage Movement and organized “porch and parlor” meetings, pamphleteering, marches, and petition drives throughout the state.
The commemorative marker is being donated by the William G. Pomeroy Foundation and is one of 200 that are being dedicated to prominent suffragists in various locations around the country. It will be included on the National Votes for Women Trail, which documents the suffragists’ victories and defeats along the path to the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution on August 26, 1920. A virtual trail of more than 2,200 sites can be found online at NVWT.org.
Invited speakers at the May 14 historical marker unveiling include Robert Willey, Mayor of Easton; Addie Eckardt, Maryland State Senator; Maria Darby, President of Maryland Women’s Heritage Center; Diana Bailey, Executive Director of Maryland Women’s Heritage Center; and Steve Bodner, of the William G. Pomeroy Foundation.
Guided Tours of Downtown Easton
The Talbot Historical Society will provide docent led tours of downtown Easton once a month through November on the following dates: May 20; June 18; July 16; August 20; September 17; October 15; and November 19. The 11 a.m. guided tour is of Historic Easton. The noon tour is of Historic Easton’s Architecture. Groups may meet outside at 25 South Washington Street for the tours. Reservations are required by calling 410-822-1287 or emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.